Writing Multiple WIPs

pile of books

Photo by Pixabay on Pexels.com

I always promised myself that I would never start writing another book until I finished the one I was currently working on. This self-proclaimed rule lasted for hardly a year before I just HAD to write the beginning scenes of a book I couldn’t stop thinking about. You all know how it is. But if starting one book wasn’t bad enough, shortly thereafter, I started yet another book when I had yet to finish either of the other two I was already in the middle of.

The majority of the time when I have a new book idea, I can get away with writing down the basics of the plot and or characters in one of my notebooks, but sometimes the urge is too strong, the idea too brilliant, and the thoughts too loud for me to simply put off writing anymore. I soon realized that if I kept this up, I would be in the middle of about twenty different books and never actually finish any of them.

At first, I was beating myself up for starting so many different projects without having first finishing the previous ones. Then I realized that this was actually a good thing. Or at least, it could be. Having multiple works going on at the same time gave me an outlet to write different genres and experiment with different styles. But this became too hectic to control. So, I began to prioritize my writing based on what book needs to be finished first. It seems like a simple enough fix, but sometimes I felt more motivated and drawn to one work than the others at any given time.

Once I gave myself deadlines and the ultimatum of finishing a book, it became easier for me to focus on one specific work and put the others on hold for a moment. My other WIPs are now only taken out when I have free time to spend on them and my main book I’m focusing on is on schedule.

If you’re struggling with multiple WIPs, choose the one you are most attracted to or the one that you believe has the best shot for publication and then pour your heart and soul into that project. Your other books will always be there for you when you finish.

Just write!

  • Jordan

One thought on “Writing Multiple WIPs

  1. Totally true.
    At 45, and as a dyslexic I began in haste until I found preface and longline to waste .
    Okay, no poetic prose.
    Seriously if you were to check out my site, you’ll find excerpts from many works. I have to say, exactly the same experience here, and in truth, I now have two on the go with short stories and poetic narrative feeding my quiver.
    I know which one s are important through offering space to them and—yup—you guessed it, they’re all important but hey! All in good time.

    Great blog piece.
    Carry on ;0)
    Pablo Meccano

    Like

Leave a comment